Laureates 2008

Leszek Balcerowicz

Jeffrey David Sachs

Vladimir Mau

Dmitry Travin

Alexander Granberg

The Third Ceremony of Awarding the International Leontief Medal "For Contribution to Economic Reforms" was held in Mikhailovsky (Engineers’) Castle  on February 28,  2009. The ceremony took place in the framework of the VIII Annual Leontief Conference Economics and Law / Leontief Readings.

The Awarding ceremony was opened by Irina Karelina, ICSER "Leontief Centre" Director-General, with the presentation on the history of establishing the International Leontief medal for “Contribution to Economic Reforms” and the Awarding ceremonies.

Welcoming speeches were made by:

  • Masaaki Kuboniwa, Institute of Economic Research Hitotsubashi University, Professor, Japan, Laureate of the Leontief Medal “For Achievements in Economy” (2004)
  • Paul Vandoren, Delegation of the European Commission to Russia, Deputy Head 

Written greetings to participants of Ceremony have sent:

Robert M. Solow
Honored professor of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Nobel Prize winner, Laureate of the Intrenational Leontief Medal for "Contribution to Economic Reforms" (2006)

Jan Oosterhaven
President of International Input-Output Association

Rewarding Laureates 2008 with the International Leontief Medal “For Contribution to Economic Reforms” and  reports of the medal laureates took place after completion the speech.